LIVE: Horror crash rocks start of race day

8 months ago 115

By Simon Brunsdon04 Dec 2021 23:44

The 2021 Supercars title mightiness already beryllium decided - Shane van Gisbergen the runaway person who volition instrumentality the crown - but there's nary little excitement astir today's Bathurst 1000, the past contention and expansive finale of the year.

Van Gisbergen and Garth Tander volition commencement 5th connected the grid for the large contention - owed to statesman astatine 12.15pm (AEDT) - portion 2014 victor Chaz Mostert claimed rod presumption with a stunning Shootout thigh connected Saturday.

Right down him connected the grid is Anton de Pasquale and his co-driver Tony D'Alberto successful their Ford Mustang GT.

"We're successful the pointy extremity of the tract truthful hopefully we get a cleanable commencement and person a bully race," De Pasquale told Nine's Today this morning.

"Last night's Shootout was truly fun. The way was truly grippy.

"(There was) a batch of risks, a batch of coming implicit the top, and had an awesome time."

De Pasquale has enjoyed a palmy Supercars season, but is wary Mount Panorama is simply a full antithetic beast to the different races passim the season.

"The Bathurst itself, you person to person a full antithetic respect for this place. It's our hardest, longest race.

"There's truthful overmuch hazard that you person racing here, and it's specified a agelong contention that thing tin happen.

"Try to person a bully cleanable day, effort to bounds the mistakes. There's going to beryllium immoderate crossed the time truthful hopefully they're lone tiny ones.

"Knowing that we person a car that triumph races, and starting astatine the pointy extremity of the tract is handy. So hopefully maximise that and person an awesome one."

By Simon Brunsdon04 Dec 2021 23:39

1) #25 Mobil 1 Appliances Online Racing

Chaz Mostert/Lee Holdsworth, Holden Commodore ZB

2) #11 Shell V-Power Racing Team

Anton De Pasquale/Tony D'Alberto, Ford Mustang GT

3) #6 Monster Energy Racing

Cameron Waters/James Moffat, Ford Mustang GT

4) #3 CoolDrive Racing

Tim Slade/Tim Blanchard, Ford Mustang GT

5) #888 Red Bull Ampol Racing

Shane van Gisbergen/Garth Tander, Holden Commodore ZB

6) #17 Shell V-Power Racing Team

Will Davison/Alex Davison, Ford Mustang GT

7) #8 R&J Batteries Racing

Nick Percat/Dale Wood, Holden Commodore ZB

8) #5 Truck Assist Racing

Jack Le Brocq/Zak Best, Ford Mustang GT

9) #9 Erebus Motorsport

Will Brown/Jack Perkins, Holden Commodore ZB

10) #99 Boost Mobile Erebus Motorsport

Brodie Kostecki/David Russell, Holden Commodore ZB

11) #88 Red Bull Ampol Racing

Jamie Whincup/Craig Lowndes, Holden Commodore ZB

12) #2 Mobil 1 Middy's Racing

Bryce Fullwood/Warren Luff, Holden Commodore ZB

13) #20 DEWALT Racing

Scott Pye/James Golding, Holden Commodore ZB

14) #18 IRWIN Racing

Mark Winterbottom/Michael Caruso, Holden Commodore ZB

15) #39 Supercheap Auto Racing

Broc Feeney/Russell Ingall, Holden Commodore ZB

16) #44 Boost Mobile Racing

James Courtney/Thomas Randle, Ford Mustang GT

17) #7 NED Whisky Racing

Andre Heimgartner/Matt Campbell, Ford Mustang GT

18) #14 Cub Cadet Mowers

Todd Hazelwood/Dean Fiore, Holden Commodore ZB

19) #26 Penrite Racing

David Reynolds/Luke Youlden, Ford Mustang GT

20) #19 Local Legends Racing

Fabian Coulthard/Jonathon Webb, Holden Commodore ZB

21) #34 UNIT Racing

Jake Kostecki/Kurt Kostecki, Holden Commodore ZB

22) #96 Coca-Cola Racing

Macauley Jones/Chris Pither, Holden Commodore ZB

23) #35 Yellow Cover Racing

Zane Goddard/Jayden Ojeda, Holden Commodore ZB

24) #4 SCT Logistics Racing

Jack Smith/David Wall, Holden Commodore ZB

25) #22 Team Sydney

Garry Jacobson/Dylan O'Keeffe, Holden Commodore ZB

Read Entire Article